Post grad life: what do I do? Where do I start? Where’s my poorly paid job, already?

I’ve been in throws of post graduate life since early November. I’ll admit that it’s been disturbing to say the least; for the first time in fifteen hellish years, I’m not studying. I have nothing that I have to read; I have nothing that I have to cram for and nobody that I have to get permission off to go to the bathroom. Needless to say, having the weight of tertiary study lifted from my shoulders has been an enlightening experience to say the least (pun intended). However, my wonderfully worn, wisdom filled, second-hand-bookstore brain is starting to wonder what life is actually supposed to be like after studying.

What do I do? Where do I start? Where’s my poorly paid job, already? It’s at least a month late to the party now and it’s beyond the point of being fashionable.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that so far post-uni life has been a desperate scramble of uncertainty and confusion, kind of like trying to find your seat in a dark cinema after leaving mid-film to go to the bathroom. You know there’s a place for you somewhere and there’s someone aggressively waving at you from said place trying to get your attention but at this stage you’re just blankly staring at them with absolutely no idea where you are or where you’re going. It’s disorientating and, yes, you feel dim wittingly lost but at least you know that there’s something (or somebody) waiting for you somewhere and if you can’t find your place straight away, well, you can always sit with some random and enjoy the rest of the movie.

If you haven’t already guessed, I am in the “lost-in-the-cinema” stage of not just my post-graduate life but my life in general. I’ve completed all sorts of certificates and degrees over the years but, surprisingly, I still don’t know what my purpose in life is or what career path I should take. I honestly thought I would have gotten the point of all this by now but alas, no, and I’ve always been told that’s a bad thing.

However, I’ve decided that this doesn’t have to be all that bad.

Maybe I can sit with a random movie-goer for a while and enjoy the film that I came to see while my friend sits awkwardly at the back of the cinema and furiously texts me asking me what I’m doing. I’m sure I’ll figure something out eventually but for now, I’m in no rush and no big hurry to stress myself out over trying to find the perfect fit for my future.

Instead of all that stressful nonsense, I decided to start a blog. For one, I thought a blog outside of my uni projects would be an interesting twist for my online journalism resume and would give me something constructive to do outside of working, looking for more work, and seeing how many teaspoons of Milo I can cram into my mouth when no one is looking. Mainly, though, I wanted to post things on the internet that people could relate to and get a giggle out of here and there. I do the same with Instagram and basically every other social media platform I use, so why not take things to a new level? Why not give myself some work to do? Why not clown around on the internet for a while until I sort myself out?

Essentially, this blog is going to be a nonsensical collection of articles, stories, photos, inspirations, thoughts, quotes, and adventures that I cross paths with during my daily life. It will also include a lot of experimentation with Photoshop and failed attempts at making Christmas presents, so stay tuned.

(Feature image source: Shutterstock)

Leave a Reply

