5 Useful Things on My Christmas List This Year

Every year when my mum asks me what I want for Christmas, I always seem to say the same thing:

“Aw mum, you don’t have to get me anything…
but if you insist, I’m pretty easily pleased. I would like some clothes. Pls.”

If that final “pls” sounded desperate it’s because it was. I love clothes. I love buying new clothes. I love being given new clothes. When I’m not thinking about buying new clothes, I’m on Instagram looking at new clothes. Some might say my interest in fashion is bordering on obsessive but the fact of the matter is that I have such a deep interest in it because I can’t afford to have this kind of addiction. I love finding things that speak to my personality and lusting after them until I’ve saved enough money to safely buy them without feeling guilty but being a poor (ex) university student, I can’t justify spending more than $20 on anything anymore, ever. So, every Christmas I find myself making the same simple request from my fashion savvy mum; I would like some new clothes, please, to satisfy the consumerist demon inside of me.

giphy5(Source: giphy.com)

This year, however, I’ve decided to make a list of things that I really need this Christmas. You know, useful things, constructive things, things that will make my life easier in the long run. Here’s five useful things worth going on the wishlist this year.

  1. A food processor/really good blender

I’ve never been a very good cook under any circumstances (not even with my mum or dad watching) but lately I’ve found myself experimenting more and more in the kitchen. It’s actually been a pretty successful endeavor but to save my brain from struggling at full capacity, it might be helpful to invest in a food processor or a really good blender.

giphy(Sourced: giphy.com)

2.  A big, loving bag of groceries from mum

When I was living in Newcastle, my mum would occasionally buy me “secret groceries” and it would always make my day. She’d buy me bags full of tuna, packet soups, the occasional bottle of wine, two minute noodles and risottos, all sorts of things and it was the best thing in the world. The gift of groceries is priceless.

giphy3
(Source: giphy.com)

3. A clean car

I really, desperately need to clean my car before the end of the year. That’s not to say that I haven’t cleaned my car all year but it wouldn’t be such a stretch from the truth. Hopefully I can get my younger step siblings to “help” give it a good clean over the holidays (i.e. pay them to do it for me because cleaning cars is the worst).

giphy1(Source: giphy.com)

4. Gym gear

Okay, so this one is kind of about clothes but it has nothing to do with fashion. I’ve been hard core working out for over two years now and I’ve essentially been wearing the same three outfits the entire time. That’s a lot of sweat and destruction. I am in dire straits in the three quarter length legging department, so some new gym gear wouldn’t go astray.

giphy2(Source: giphy.com)

5. Spotify and Netflix subscriptions

It doesn’t cost much to get all the best music, movies, and television anymore so to save myself from spending too much money next year and getting arrested for… secret reasons… I might sell my soul into Spotify and Netflix.

giphy4
(Source: giphy.com)

 

Leave a Reply

