New Year, New Resolutions!

Ah, here we are again. One year on from when I initially created this blog and I have achieved… very little, actually. If I could personify 2016 with an emoji, it would probably be the rosy cheeked one you use when you’re embarrassed.

This year is bound to be better, though. I think we can all agree that 2016 was the year from hell and we’re all god damn happy to see it die.

2016
(Source: giphy)

For me, personally, last year was about trials and tribulations. I suffered a lot with workplace anxiety and self confidence issues (a terrible beast I thought had died when I hit twenty-years-old), I was feeling increasingly secluded living an odd two hours from any friends or family, and many people close to my heart were starting to crumble both physically and emotionally.

To put it simply, it sucked ass. I’m glad it’s over.

wayne
(Source: giphy)

That’s not to suggest there weren’t highlights! I worked with some incredible characters at Specsavers who stole my heart something shocking, I picked up indoor/outdoor climbing as a hobby, I discovered the wonders of weight lifting, I became a fully fledged Vegetarian, and I hit two years with my partner, Bree (a dude, surprisingly, who was named after a lady on Wheel of Fortune… you might say I’ve been ~fortunate~ to have met him).

Anyway, a new year brings new resolutions. Considering last year was an enormous sack of crap in many ways, I’ve decided to pick up a few new challenges to hopefully make myself a happier, healthier person not only for myself but for the people around me.

  • Focus on putting myself first. Now, this one might sound a little self serving, but I have a bit of a problem with people pleasing and I’ve found it can actually cause a bit of self inflicted misery at times. This year, my plan is to make sure I’m getting what I want and making myself heard. I’ll also consistently remind myself I’m not as crap as I think I am. As Carrie Fisher said, “you don’t have to be confident; just do it and eventually the confidence will follow.”

ash
(Source: giphy)

  • Reduce my carbon footprint. I’ve already succeeded in becoming a vegetarian (woo!) but I feel I could be doing more to help the environment. I’m going to make myself more aware of my own impact on the world and cut down on things like fast food, animal products, heavily packaged/processed foods, straws, and glad wraps just to name a few. I’m gonna be environmentally friendly af.

bound-3
(Source: giphy)

  • Cut down on drinking. This is something I say every year and I haven’t really ever succeeded in keeping to it, but I have more reason now than ever before. I refuse to drink if I’m at home alone (i.e. only in social situations) and I won’t be drinking with family members anymore, either. It’s just not a positive or healthy thing to do, and honest to god, I get a hangover from having one sparkling wine so I’m assuming my youthful alcohol tolerance is dying now, anyway.

im-not-even-late-twenties-yet
(Source: giphy)

  • Call my mum, dad, and brother more. I let this one slip terribly last year but luckily I managed to get on top of it towards the end there. It’s so important to keep up to date with family and make sure everyone is doing okay.

phonecall
(Source: giphy)

  • Make more time for myself. I may come off as super lazy (and I am) but I very rarely feel that I get any time to myself. Over the past year or so, I’ve been constantly on the go and always keeping myself busy to the point of being totally exhausted. This year I’m going to make time for body balance classes, beach jogs and swims, super bubbly baths, painting, blogging, climbing, and having a pot of loose leaf tea all to myself.

tea
(Source: giphy)

 

 

Leave a Reply

